Thursday, Apr. 17, 2003 - 5:09 p.m.

wearing: smashing new not-entirely-linen spring outfit from Target
in car CD player: I'm still listening to American Thighs, okay? it's for a story!
hey, Grampa! what's for dinner? new "Six-Cheese Bagel" from Einstein Bros. that was more than a little too greasy

here's what a self-indulgent ass I am today...

I just bought my mom a plane ticket to join me for two of the days I'm in Singapore. She will be in the air almost as long as she'll be on the ground, but Mom lives for that kind of stuff. I am now even more in debt over this trip but it'll go away soon enough and I'll feel a lot less guilty about the whole endeavor. Mom grew up as part of this whole generation that doesn't travel because It Costs Too Much Money--yet she'll go out and buy herself a Corvette--and so the only way to get her to broaden her horizons is to essentially force her to do so. Either that, or I just wanted the self-indulgent manipulative exhiliration of calling my mom in the middle of the afternoon and telling her to check her e-mail for a message from Expedia. I was already planning on spending two of my Singapore days going to the botanic gardens, and tropical rainforest preserve that's right in the middle of the city, and orchid conservatories, and that's right up Mom's alley so it'll be interesting to have her along and get her perspective on everything. She's not the slightest bit Asia-obsessed like I am and so it's going to be a tremendous culture shock for her and I anticipate this will be very entertaining and enlightening.

So now I'm going to get back to work so I can assuage even more guilt, this time re: low billable hours.

previous - next

5.2.03--all packed up and nowhere to go yet - Friday, May. 02, 2003
5.1.03--the home stretch! - Thursday, May. 01, 2003
4.21.03--novel concepts - Monday, Apr. 21, 2003
4.19.03--this is not my beautiful wife - Saturday, Apr. 19, 2003
4.18.03--like chickens before their heads are cut off - Friday, Apr. 18, 2003

*

***

Diaryland *** Moi *** Maintenant *** Temps Perdu

Qui? *** Les Autres qui sont Ici